So, starting today,

See I Pledge To Buy Handmade, You should too!See I Pledge To Buy Handmade, You should too!

What this means is that I will be gifting Handmade goods to my friends and family this Diwali, Christmas and New Year.

I’ve been thinking of going handmade and buying handmade items for quite a while and its time I took the plunge.It should stop me from being lazy and rushing to buy not-so-nice last-minute gifts for the most important people in my life.

But, why should you buy handmade?

Buyhandmade already lists a number of reasons why you should buy handmade gifts, but I came up with some simple personal reasons of my own:

  • They do not exploit innocent children or abuse adults in factories in the production of these gifts (This is why I don’t buy crackers during Diwali).
  • Handmade gifts are the best thing to give unique, one-of-a-kind pieces to people who “already have everything”.
  • It inspires me to think up, dream and create unique gifts for my friends and family-I can boast that I made them all by my little self, cant I? I can make gifts to suit each friend, at a comparatively lower cost when compared to having to shop for each one.
  • If I make it by hand, I’ll learn new craft, improve my crafting, designing and planning skills-not to mention a bit of budgeting thrown in.

Unfortunately I have already purchased some non-handmade items like books (long-overdue birthday gift to be combined into a X’mas Gift) and pampering products like moisturizer and nail polish (for a friend recovering from a serious illness). I will be gifting these anyway as I’ve already bought ’em but henceforth, I pledge to give handmade items for all the other presents 🙂

So when are you going to sign up?? Sign up and include a Buy Handmade badge in your blog’s sidebar, like the one in mine. Don’t forget to tell your friends 🙂

