First, some good news….One thing led to another and I got another order for Origami paper boxes– this time 30 of them 🙂 My “client” wanted either the Chocolate and Coffee Manly boxes or the Shades of Red boxes….

Problem: The paper I used to make K’s order was from an Assorted paper pack -the chocolate brown and red paper was over and anyway since the packet had one 5 squares of each color, I wouldn’t have enough for 30 boxes…So, I started my hunt for handmade paper last Sunday -the hunt ended today- Saturday!

My search took me to all these lovely places so I just HAD to share:

Handmade Paper

Handmade Paper

LANDMARK- SPENCER’S PLAZA

If you can bear the heat then head to Landmark-their ground floor has an awesome selection of Artist’s papers- costly but in many hues…The computer stationery section has a good collection of handmade papers. I bought my first Assorted Origami Handmade Paper(50 squares for 133 Rs) from here.They also have assorted A4 size paper with ribbon and tags for scrap-booking enthusiasts…Also check out small embellishments for scrap-booking pages. The first floor section that sells pens also has some great Roller stamps and craft paper punches (if you’re lucky and patient enough to go there and hunt). Get handmade wrapping paper from near the billing counter to make one-of-a-kind photo frames, cards etc.

LANDMARK- CITI CENTRE( Dr. Radhakrishnan Salai)

The A.C is better here and most of the products are the same as the other Landmark- I’ve had better luck finding craft punches here though- near the pens section again…They also have nice stencil designs here…

AESTHETICS

This quaint little shop offers great service- You can find their handmade paper on a mezzanine level below the ground floor- the papers are a bit thin though- but genuine handmade from the Aurobindo Ashram, Pondicherry. Prices are Rs 35 per sheet onwards…Handmade paper notebooks, stationery and Lamps are also available in myriad colors…

Address:

86 Aarti Arcade,
Dr. Radha Krishnan Salai
Mylapore

SANKESHWARA PAPIER

This is the place I finally found the paper I was looking for!! Thanks Varun again… Sankeswara prints and sells wedding cards primarily- Ask for their Handmade Paper catalog to go through all the shades they have and find the best one. The ones I got were TOTALLY affordable- i got Maroon and off-white papers for rates of 23Rs and 15 Rs per sheet. Now that’s a 100/100 🙂

Address:

Ground Floor( right side),
Justice Pratap Singh Building (I.O.A. Complex),
Old No 35, New No 69, Royapettah High Road,
Chennai- 14

(same complex as Modfurn and Hallmark)

HINDUSTAN TRADING COMPANY

Ok-this is not exactly a paper shop but an AWESOME craft paradise I wandered into after buying my paper from Sankeshwara…..they have everything from paintbrushes to paints, glues to cutters and paper embossers- Yes, they have a huge collection of Craft Punches ( I bought 3- a teddy bear, a snowflake for Christmas cheer and a border design). They also have awesome stencils…. Go to this shop with lots of money- their stuff is very affordable but you may just want to buy the whole shop!! Great Customer service!! I’ll be back 🙂

Address:

Shop Nos 171-172, First Floor,
Justice Pratap Singh Building (I.O.A. Complex),
Old No 35, New No 69, Royapettah High Road,
Chennai- 14

Email:

hindustan_trading@yahoo.com
or
hindustanartcentre@yahoo.co.in

(same complex as Modfurn and Hallmark)

Hope this list is useful -Do drop in a comment if you know some more shops to add to this list…

Happy Paper Hunting 🙂